City & County of San Francisco Office of the County Clerk
Department of Public Health
BIRTH CERTIFICATE INSTRUCTIONS

INSTRUCTIONS:

1. ONLY individuals who are authorized by Health and Safety Code Section 103526 can obtain a Certified Copy of a birth record
to establish the identity of the registrant (person listed on the certificate). (Page 1 identifies the individuals who are
authorized to make the request.) All others may receive a Certified Informational Copy, which will be marked, “Informational,
Not a Valid Document to Establish Identity.”

Confidential Information on Birth Record: Some individuals have special needs for a birth certificate that contains the
confidential information provided at the time the birth record was prepared. This confidential information may be used to
establish ethnicity, to provide health background, or for other personal reasons. For information on how to obtain a birth
certificate containing the confidential information, please refer to the Birth Record section of the California Department of
Public Health website at: www.cdph.ca.gov. Only specific individuals may obtain confidential copies. Submit your request and
fee directly to California Department of Public Health Vital Records - MS 5103, PO Box 997410 Sacramento, CA 95899-7410.

2. Complete a separate application for each birth record you are requesting.

3. Complete the Applicant Information section on Page 1 and provide your signature where indicated. In the Birth Record
Information section, provide all the information you have available to identify the birth record. If the information you furnish
is incomplete or inaccurate, we may not be able to locate the record.

4, If the registrant has been adopted, request the adopted name. If the registrant was born outside the United States and re-
adopted in California, mark the “Yes” box and complete the application with the adopted information. (If you are requesting a
copy of the original birth certificate, you must provide a court order releasing the original sealed record.) Submit your request
and fee directly to California Department of Public Health Vital Records - MS 5103, PO Box 997410 Sacramento, CA 95899-
7410.

5. SWORN STATEMENT:

e The authorized individual requesting the certified copy must sign the attached Sworn Statement, declaring under penalty
of perjury that they are eligible to receive the certified copy of the birth record and identify their relationship to the
registrant — the relationship must be one of those identified on Page 1 of the application.

e If the application is being submitted by mail, the Sworn Statement must be notarized by a US Notary Public. (To find a
Notary Public, see your local yellow pages or call your banking institution.) Please note: Acknowledgements executed by
Notaries Public outside of the USA are not accepted. Sworn Statements must be taken before an Ambassador, Minister,
Consul, Vice Consul, or Consular Agent of the United States, or before any Judge of a Court of record having a seal in such
foreign country. (CA CCP 2014) Law enforcement and local and state governmental agencies are exempt from the notary
requirement.

e You do not have to provide a Sworn Statement if you are requesting a Certified Informational Copy of the birth record.

6. Submit $29 for each copy requested and a self-addressed prepaid stamped return envelope. If no record is found, the $29 fee
will be retained for searching for the record (as required by law), and a “Certificate of No Public Record” will be issued to the
applicant. Indicate the number of copies you are requesting and include the correct fee(s) in the form of a personal check
preprinted with the account holder's name from a U.S.A. issued bank, no foreign checks or international money orders.
PLEASE SUBMIT CHECK OR MONEY ORDER — DO NOT SEND CASH (NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR FEES PAID IN CASH THAT ARE LOST,
MISDIRECTED, OR UNDELIVERED). If you require return tracking or guaranteed delivery of your fulfilled order, you must
provide a prepaid return air bill guaranteeing tracking and delivery, i.e., Federal Express, USPS Priority, UPS, or other. We are
not responsible for non-delivery or non-receipt of fulfilled orders by your chosen return delivery method. Mail the completed
application with the fee(s) and self-addressed prepaid stamped return envelope to the address below.

Office of Vital Records
101 Grove Street, Room 105
San Francisco, CA 94102
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City & County of San Francisco Office of the County Clerk

Department of Public Health
APPLICATION FOR CERTIFIED COPY OF BIRTH RECORD
PLEASE READ THE INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS BEFORE COMPLETING THIS APPLICATION

As part of statewide efforts to prevent identity theft, California law (Health and Safety Code Section 103526) permits only authorized individuals as listed on the
application to receive certified copies of records. All others will be issued Certified Informational Copies printed with “Informational, Not A Valid Document to Establish
Identity.” Please indicate the type of certified copy you are requesting:

O 1want a Certified Copy. This copy will establish the identity of the registrant. (To receive a O 1want a Certified Informational Copy. This document will
Certified Copy, you MUST INDICATE YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THE REGISTRANT by selecting from be printed with “lINFORMATIONAL, NOT A VALID
the list below AND COMPLETE THE ATTACHED SWORN STATEMENT declaring that you are DOCUMENT TO ESTABLISH IDENTITY.”
eligible to receive the Certified Copy. The Sworn Statement MUST BE NOTARIZED if the
application is submitted by mail unless you are a law enforcement, local, or state governmental (A Sworn Statement does NOT need to be provided.)
agency.

Fee:  $29 per copy (payable to SF Department of Public Health). If mailing in an application, PLEASE SUBMIT A CHECK preprinted with the account holder's name, or a
money order from a USA-issued institution. NO FOREIGN CHECKS OR INTERNATIONAL MONEY ORDERS ACCEPTED - DO NOT SEND CASH (We are not
responsible for fees paid in cash that are lost, misdirected, or undelivered). If no record is found, the $29 fee will be retained for searching for the record (as
required by law), and a “Certificate of No Public Record” will be issued to the applicant.

NOTE: Both documents are certified copies of the original document on file with our office. Except for the redaction of signatures and Social Security Numbers, the
documents contain the same information.

To receive a Certified Copy, | am:

The registrant (person listed on the certificate) or a parent or legal guardian of the registrant (legal guardian must provide documentation).

A party entitled to receive the record as a result of a court order (include copy), or an attorney or a licensed adoption agency seeking the birth record to
comply with the requirements of Section 3140 or 7603 of the Family Code.

A member of a law enforcement agency or a representative of another governmental agency, as provided by law, who is conducting official business.
(Companies representing a government agency must provide authorization from the government agency. A business card is not substantiation.

A child, grandparent, grandchild, brother or sister, spouse, or domestic partner of the registrant.

An attorney representing the registrant or the registrant’s estate, or any person or agency empowered by statute or appointed by a court to act on behalf
of the registrant or the registrant’s estate. (A BAR card is not substantiation.)

oo O oo

O Appointed rights in a power of attorney, or as an executor of the registrant’s estate. (Please include a copy of the power of attorney or supporting
documentation identifying you as executor.)

APPLICANT INFORMATION (PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE) Today'’s Date:

Agency Name (if appropriate) Agency Case No. | Purpose of Request

Print Name of Applicant Signature of Applicant

Mailing Address — Number, Street Amount Enclosed Number of Copies
DO NOT SEND CASH $
Email Address

City Name of Person Receiving Copies, if Different from Applicant
State/Province ZIP Code Mailing Address for Copies, if Different from Applicant

Daytime Telephone (include area code) Country City State ZIP Code
( )

BIRTH RECORD INFORMATION (PLEASE PRINT ORTYPE) Adopted: [1 No [1Yes (If Yes, see #4 on Information and Instructions)

BIRTH FIRST Name MIDDLE Name LAST Name
City of Birth (must be in San Francisco) County of Birth
San Francisco San Francisco
Date of Birth — MM/DD/CCYY (If unknown, enter Sex Was the record amended?
approximate date of birth) ___Female ___Male ___Yes __No
Father/Parent FIRST Name MIDDLE Name LAST Name
Mother/Parent FIRST Name MIDDLE Name LAST (BIRTH Name)
ISSUE DATE — MONTH, DAY, YEAR LRN OTHER/# COPIES

BANKNOTE NUMBER RECEIPT NUMBER

OR OFFICE
USE ONLY

BY: DEPUTY
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City & County of San Francisco Office of the County Clerk
Department of Public Health

SWORN STATEMENT

E , declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California,
(Applicant’s Printed Name)

that | am an authorized person, as defined in California Health and Safety Code Section 103526 (c), and eligible to receive a certified copy of the

birth, death, or marriage certificate of the following individual(s):

Registrant Applicant’s Relationship to Person Listed on Certificate

(Name of person whose certificate you are requesting) (Must be a relationship listed on page 1 of the application)

(The remaining information must be completed in the presence of a Notary Public or SFDPH staff)

Subscribed to this day of ,20__ , at ,
(Day) (Month) (City) (State)

(Applicant’s Signature)

Note: If submitting your order by mail, you must have your Sworn Statement notarized using the Certificate of Acknowledgment
below. A Notary Public must complete the Certificate of Acknowledgment. (Law enforcement, local, and state governmental agencies
are exempt from the notary requirement.)

CERTIFICATE OF ACKNOWLEDGMENT

A notary public or other officer completing this certificate verifies only the identity of the individual who signed
the document to which this certificate is attached, and not the truthfulness, accuracy, or validity of that document.

State of )

County of )

On before me , personally appeared ,
(insert name) (insert title)

who proved to me based on satisfactory evidence to be the person(s) whose name(s) is/are subscribed to the within instrument and acknowledged to
me that he/she/they executed the same in his/her/their authorized capacity(ies), and that by his/her/their signature(s) on the instrument the person(s),
or the entity upon behalf of which the person(s) acted, executed the instrument. | certify under PENALTY OF PERJURY under the laws of the State of
California that the foregoing paragraph is true and correct.

WITNESS my hand and official seal.
(SEAL)

SIGNATURE OF NOTARY PUBLIC
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